DOING BUSINESS IN RICHLAND COUNTY

About Business Licenses

- Nearly *all* cities in SC require businesses to have a business license. Eight SC counties require business licenses, including:
 - Beaufort County
 - Charleston County
 - Dorchester County
 - Horry County

- Jasper County
- Marion County
- Richland County
- Sumter County
- <u>Every</u> business needs a business license, including home-based businesses. However, some businesses are exempt from paying the fee.
- A business license is valid only in the jurisdiction in which it was obtained.
- Business licenses are valid for the current calendar year only. Business licenses expire every December 31st.
- Every physical location requires its own business license.
- Business licenses are valid for the *current* owner only—no transfers.
- Business license fees are based upon gross revenue, type of business (indicated by the NAICS code, the federal North American Industrial Classification System), and location (in or out of the county).
- All gross revenue of a business should be reported to a jurisdiction only once.
 Deductions will apply if a business obtains more than one business license.

If your business is closing or is no longer operating in Richland County, it is critical to complete a <u>Closing Business Form</u> so your business will not be held liable for delinquent licenses, permits, taxes, and/or fees that may accrue after the business closes.