

## Richland County Council SPEICIAL CALLED MEETING January 5, 2021 Zoom Meeting

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT: Paul Livingston Chair, Bill Malinowski, Derek Pugh. Yvonne McBride, Allison Terracio, Joe Walker, Gretchen Barron, Overture E. Walker, Jesica Mackey, Cheryl English, and Chakisse Newton.

OTHERS PRESENT: Michelle Onley, Angela Weathersby, Kyle Holsclaw, Ashiya Myers, Clayton Voignier, Jennifer Wladischkin, Michael Niermeier, Randy Pruitt, Michael Byrd, Elizabeth McLean, Ronaldo Myers, Stacey Hamm, John Thompson, Judy Carter, Bill Davis, Dwight Hanna, Dale Welch, James Hayes, Geo Price, Jeff Ruble, Jani Hussain, Leonardo Brown, Tamar Black, Lori Thomas, Brittney Hoyle-Terry and Dante Roberts

- 1. **CALL TO ORDER** Mr. Livingston called the meeting to order at approximately 6:00PM.
- 2. **ADOPTION OF AGENDA** –Ms. McBride moved, seconded by Mr. Pugh, to adopt the agenda.

In Favor: Mackey, Newton, English, O. Walker, Barron, J Walker, Terracio, Livingston, McBride, Pugh, Malinowski.

The vote in favor was unanimous.

**ELECTION OF THE CHAIR** – Ms. Terracio moved, seconded by Mr. J. Walker, to nominate Ms. Newton for the 3. positon of Chair.

Ms. McBride moved, seconded by Mr. O. Walker, to nominate Mr. Livingston for the position of Chair.

Ms. McBride moved, seconded by Mr. I. Walker, to close the floor for nominations.

Mr. Livingston stated the vote for Ms. Newton would be first.

In Favor: Newton, J. Walker

Opposed: Mackey, English, O. Walker, Barron, Livingston, McBride, Pugh, Malinowski

Present but Not Voting: Terracio

*The motion failed to appoint Ms. Newton.* 

In Favor: Mackey, English, O. Walker, Barron, Livingston, McBride, Pugh, Malinowski

Opposed: J. Walker, Terracio

Present but Not Voting: Newton.

Special Called January 5, 2021

The vote was in favor of appointing Mr. Livingston as Chair.

Ms. Livingston thanked Council for their vote of confidence, which he does not take for granted. He stated he understood the importance and significance of the role of Chair. He stated he would continue to do the best job that he could.

4. **ELECTION OF THE VICE CHAIR** – Mr. J. Walker moved, seconded by Mr. Malinowski, to nominate Mr. Malinowski for the position of Vice-Chair.

Ms. Barron moved, seconded by Ms. Terracio, to nominate Ms. McBride for the position of Vice-Chair.

Mr. Livingston stated the first vote will be for Mr. Malinowski.

**POINT OF ORDER:** Mr. J. Walker moved, seconded by Mr. Malinowski, to close the floor for nominations.

In Favor: Mackey, Newton, English, O Walker, Barron, J. Walker, Terracio, Livingston, McBride, Pugh, Malinowski.

The vote in favor of closing the floor for nominations was unanimous.

In Favor: J. Walker, Malinowski

Opposed: Mackey, English, O. Walker, Barron, Terracio, Livingston, McBride, Pugh,

Present but Not Voting: Newton

The motion failed to appoint Mr. Malinowski.

In Favor: Mackey, Newton, English, O. Walker, Barron, Livingston, McBride, Pugh

Opposed: J. Walker, Malinowski

Present but Not Voting: Terracio

The vote was in favor of appointing Ms. McBride as Vice-Chair.

Ms. McBride stated she wanted to thank everyone for their support and vote of confidence. She noted she attended the swearing-in ceremony today and was touched by the ceremony itself and the commitment of the new members. She thinks we have an awesome Council and she looks forward to a prosperous New Year.

Mr. Malinowski stated he also attended the ceremony and he echoed Ms. McBride's comments.

5. **ADJOURNMENT** – The meeting adjourned at approximately 6:12 PM