

Richland County Council

SPECIAL CALLED MEETING January 8, 2019 – 4:45 PM Council Chambers 2020 Hampton Street, Columbia, SC 29204

COUNCIL MEMBERS PRESENT: Paul Livingston, Chair; Dalhi Myers, Joyce Dickerson, Calvin "Chip" Jackson, Gwen Kennedy, Bill Malinowski, Jim Manning, Yvonne McBride, Chakisse Newton, Allison Terracio, and Joe Walker

OTHERS PRESENT: Michelle Onley, Sandra Yudice, Dale Welch, Kim Williams-Roberts, Beverly Harris, Trenia Bowers, Donny Phipps, Quinton Epps, Eden Logan, John Thompson, Mohammed Al-Tofan, Tim Nielsen, Nancy Stone-Collum, Ashiya Myers, Edward Gomeau, Shahid Khan, Larry Smith, Jennifer Wladischkin, Melissa Watts, Geo Price, Erica Wade, Cheryl Cook, Bryant Davis, Alicia Pearson, Michael Niermeier, Ashley Powell, James Hayes, and Ismail Ozbek

1. **CALL TO ORDER** – Ms. Dickerson called the meeting to order at approximately 4:45 PM.

Ms. Dickerson thanked everyone for the privilege of serving as Chair. It may not have been pleasing to all, but she did the best she could. She welcomed the new members, and hopes they will enjoy working with the Council members.

She stated, for clarification, she will Chair the meeting until after the election of the Chair. Once the Chair has been elected, she will turn the gavel over to them.

Ms. Myers thanked Ms. Dickerson for her service.

Ms. Dickerson thanked Mr. Malinowski for his service as the Vice Chair. She stated they have had a very good working relationship, and he has been her right hand.

2. <u>ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA</u> – Mr. Malinowski moved, seconded by Mr. Livingston, to adopt the agenda as published.

In Favor: Terracio, Malinowski, Jackson, Newton, Myers, Kennedy, Manning, Walker, Dickerson, Livingston and McBride

The vote in favor was unanimous.

3. <u>ELECTION OF CHAIR</u> – Ms. Dickerson moved, seconded by Ms. Myers, to nominate Mr. Jackson for the position of Council Chair.

In Favor: Jackson, Newton, Myers, Walker and Dickerson

Opposed: Terracio, Malinowski, Kennedy, Manning, Livingston and McBride

The motion failed.

Ms. Kennedy moved, seconded by Mr. Malinowski, to nominate Mr. Livingston for the position of Chair.

In Favor: Terracio, Malinowski, Jackson, Newton, Myers, Kennedy, Manning, Walker, Livingston and McBride

Opposed: Dickerson

The vote was in favor of electing Mr. Livingston to the position of Chair.

Mr. Livingston thanked Ms. Dickerson for her leadership for the last 2 years. He stated it takes a lot away from family duties, jobs, and other things you have to do. He stated he understood what a challenge it is. He also thanked his colleagues for their vote of confidence. It is his intent to work closely with all of the Council members, and not make decisions that does not include everyone. He hopes to meet with each Council member, individually, to talk, in detail, about their concerns and issues, so we can move forward. We have a lot of challenges ahead of us, but he is convinced we can meet all those challenges. We have done so in the past, and he thinks we can do the same in the future.

4. <u>ELECTION OF VICE CHAIR</u> – Ms. Dickerson moved, seconded by Mr. Jackson, to nominate Ms. Myers for the position of Vice-Char.

Mr. Malinowski moved to nominate Ms. Kennedy for the position of Vice-Chair.

Ms. Kennedy stated she appreciated the nomination, but she was going to have to decline the nomination, at this time.

In Favor: Terracio, Jackson, Newton, Myers, Kennedy, Walker, Dickerson, Livingston and McBride

The vote was in favor of electing Ms. Myers to the position of Vice Chair.

6. SELECTION OF SEATS:

- 1. Malinowski
- 2. Walker
- 3. McBride
- 4. Jackson
- 5. Myers
- 6. Livingston
- 7. Kennedy
- 8. Newton
- 9. Terracio
- 10. Manning
- 11. Dickerson
- 7. **ADJOURNMENT** The meeting adjourned at approximately 4:58 PM